Paperback Writer

(Cue The Beatles song.)

First, here’s the cover (which you’ve seen) and the back (which you haven’t.)

Signs And Wonders Paperback Cover

I thought about including text on the back, but in the end I liked it with just the photograph. Ronnell Porter, who did a great job on the e-book cover, also handled the paperback.

I’m using Amazon’s CreateSpace print-on-demand service to offer the paperback. (Twenty years ago, even the idea of this would seem farfetched.)  CreateSpace makes it incredibly easy — the set-up is easy to use and just takes a few minutes. If you have an e-book I highly recommend giving it a try.

Now, the good news. I’m able to offer the paperback for just $3.99. The minimum price Amazon would let me sell it on their site was $3.77, but I thought it would look weird if I priced it at that. So it’s $3.99. With a little luck it will be available next week.

I think my profit from each paperback sale is 13 cents, even less than what I’m making from each e-book sale. But that’s not the point of “Signs and Wonders.” I just want to reach as wide an audience as possible, hoping they will be willing to spend $2.99 for the sequel when it comes out next year.

UPDATE (9 a.m. Monday): That was fast. Just got an email from CreateSpace saying the proof was ready to order.

2 Comments

Filed under ebooks, On writing

2 responses to “Paperback Writer

  1. Great news! I must check out Createspace. My travel memoir will be ready fairly soon, and I think I’ll be selling a mix of print copies and electronic ones.

Leave a Reply

