Weekly sales update: Nerves

Six. I sold six books last week. Yikes. I’m not complaining. The overall number is now 123 and I’ve seen lots of authors who have taken six months to reach that total. I keep getting notes from other authors saying they would gladly take my sales numbers.

But I am quite nervous. What if August (118 sales) is followed up by 25 in September? That doesn’t bode well for my goal of making “Signs and Wonders” a bestseller. The reception for those who have read it has been fantastic — 10 reviews (all four and five star) and I know only one of the reviewers. If people read the book, they like it. The trick is getting people to part with a dollar and read it.

I’ve tried all sorts of advertising, without much success. Social media is now almost 2,000 followers on Twitter and 500+ Facebook friends. I’m not sure what else to try.

I did get help from a friend this past week on tweaking the book description and author’s note that are on Amazon. She works for an ad agency in New York, so she writes ad copy for a living. I’ve also paid for a sponsorship over at Kindle Nation Daily, which is the biggest Kindle site on the Internet. That should run sometime in September.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Weekly sales update

2 responses to “Weekly sales update: Nerves

  1. I think you’re doing very well. It’s incredibly tough to generate sales. I’m currently not sure which direction to go in promotion wise. I’m demoralised with facebook/twitter at the mo and plan to work harder on my blogs to try and reach readers that way. Oh boy, it’s not easy, is it? But … I have no intention of quitting!

  2. I think your blog is a good approach, Steph. You’ve got a cool thing going for it in that you live in FRANCE. (That sound you now hear is the jealousy of blog readers.) I’ll add you to the blogroll on the home page …

    The sales thing is like a puzzle with a million pieces and you don’t even know what the thing is supposed to look like when it’s finished. But I’m not going to give up, either!

Leave a Reply

